Celebrations

So many celebrations today. Yesterday was my brother Vim’s birthday. He was playing with his band, so his birthday gift and card are added to today’s get-together for the 4th. Oh, and another brother, Steve’s birthday is on the 6th so his card and present are today too. And brother Jeff’s wedding to Sue was 1 year ago on the 6th too – another card to bring. July is just stinking (in a good way) with birthdays in my family. Mom and brothers Mark, Steve, Joe and Vim. I guess October was a fun month for Mom and Dad.

I can be a nice person sometimes; this is the year of "I will actually make a gift for birthday people in July."

For Vim, I knitted the Alien Illusion scarf from the book,
Stitch 'N Bitch: The Knitter's Handbook

It was a lot of fun to knit, but it got pretty hot. I decided to leave it fringeless, both to save on yarn and because I think fringe gets ratty looking and gets in the way, especially on a long scarf like this one. The pattern called for Naturespun yarn, which I used for the black but I purchased Araucania Nature wool, which is a hand-dyed yarn in green for the alien faces. Because it has a slightly variegated effect, I think it adds a nice touch. Here are some pics:
pic of alien illusion scarf detail of alien face

3 thoughts on “Celebrations

  1. I am working on desiging an illusion knitting scarf and I really appreciated seeing your photos & notes about knitting this scarf. I think the variations in the green make the alien look more alive. Great scarf!

  2. Love this! I tried this one but my yarn was too bulky and I didn’t like the way it looked. I am going to do it with some finer yarn cause I like this one and think my grandaughter will, too.

Leave a Reply

