Zen

Found on an online dictionary:

Zen: A school of Mahayana Buddhism that asserts that enlightenment can be attained through meditation, self-contemplation, and intuition rather than through faith and devotion and that is practiced mainly in China, Japan, Korea, and Vietnam. Also called Zen Buddhism.

I guess they left out the part about knitting trance. Meditation is another word for that though. I really believe that if your are doing knitting "right" you achieve Zen or meditative trance.

Is it the counting, the repetitive movements, the posture, activation of meridians in the fingers? Is it the sound of the needles (even plastic makes a slight sound). Is it the feel of the yarn through the fingers? I don’t really know, but I do know that it works for me.

As much as I have loved beading (still do), it doesn’t get close to the experience of knitting (or spinning, but I am going to stay on knitting for now). Beading has counting, probably much more than knitting does, it has the passing of beads across the fingers, which is much more like the motions of a rosary or a mala.

Maybe it is just me……. nah!

One thought on “Zen

  1. I will have to find out. I just bought some more knitting yarn and am going to attempt my first sewn together piece ( I know there is probably a correct term for that.)
    I like the way beading stills my mind, but I don’t know if it is the same as meditation (of course you didn’t say that. You were talking about knitting.)It will be a while before I am doing the knitting ‘right’ enough to find out!

Leave a Reply

