Because

Today I got up early (for a Saturday) and got going to pick up Chaachi at 9:00 am so that we would be at a special preview showing of a new movie, Because of Winn Dixie. On Wednesday, Chaachi noticed free posters for the movie when I was paying for a new knitting book. I am a big fan of all things Dave Matthews/Dave Matthews Band, so I thought that was pretty cool. Then the checkout guy, who probably thought I was nuts because I had just told him how crazy I was about DM gave me a free pass to see the movie!

The movie was good. It’s a kids’ movie and the interesting thing is that when I got online to plan a route to the movie theater, I found out the author of the book lives in Minneapolis. I wonder if she was there in the movie theater? Anyway, if you are a fan of story and like animals or kids, or Dave Matthews (yum!) you will want to see the movie.

Back to Wednesday. I bought a Gansey book, the name of which I cannot recall and I am not going downstairs to get it. It looked good and I am glad I bought it but now I almost wish I would have purchased another book instead because I don’t think I will be knitting a gansey now that the weather is getting warmer. I will get the other book later, of course – because.

Yarn purchases: Friday I went out just to go out – decided I needed to check out the golf store along Snelling Avenue because I wanted to check out the counter gadgets they sell. Some time ago someone mentioned two golf counter gadgets and I have been meaning to check them out. I found one, which looks like a wristwatch. It has 3 different pegs to keep count, and it was very cheap, on sale for $3.99. I bought it because. If you want to see what it looks like, click here.

I had also planned out a trip to Borealis Yarns because it was on a street off Snelling. Nowhere near the golf store, but what the heck, close enough. I bought more yarn for more socks. You know why? Because I could.

Here they are:

Speaking of socks, I am on the foot of the 1st sock of the set for Linda. It took me several (I think 3 or was it 4?) different tries to get the short row style heel right. A lot of doing and undoing. I don’t even want to appear to complain about it though because it really doesn’t make me upset or frustrated to have to undo things, even if it is over and over and over. I just like knitting and I certainly want to be happy with the end results. Suits me just fine to have something take a while if I like the process. Here’s a pic that I took last night. I kept on knitting so I am almost ready to do the short row toe now too.

Remember how I confessed that I had never used sock yarn to make socks? Turns out that that was a mistake – I did make one set of socks with some lovely Koigu some time ago – probably 3 years ago. But it wasn’t a traditionally shaped sock. It was the "Better Mousetrap Socks" that was in Interweave Knits Fall 2001 issue. I guess I discounted them because they aren’t a normal sock shape to knit and they are made in all garter stitch. Very stretchy and kind of funky to wear because I can really feel the garter stitch bumps on my feet. Too thick to wear with shoes, I wear them at night or with my slippers.

I am dying to show you a pick or two of my recent gifts for my Ample Knitters Secret Pal, but I don’t want to do that for fear that Secret Pal would find it here. Perhaps I will post a gallery of images once the year is through. It was a lot of fun picking (and making) things for her this month.

Well, it is back to sock knitting for me. I hope you have a wonderful day – because.

Peace!

Leave a Reply

