Not Bitter But Not Going

I’m not bitter about not going to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival because I feel a little bit comforted by going to our (MN) own Sheep and Wool Festival called Shepherd’s Harvest Sheep & Wool Festival. No, it isn’t so large that you have to prepare a spreadsheet to help you decide which booths to visit, but I will be able to buy some fibery stuff and have a good time.

I will be there all day Saturday, just because I can. I will be bringing Louie, so that I can spin when I like. Probably some knitting too. My friends Robin and Joan should be able to find me.

So if you are sitting around, feeling sad because you can’t afford MDS&W and you are in or close-by MN (IA, WI, ND or SD) think about coming our way. If you need help planning where to stay and such send me an email and I will help as best I can.

Sunday brings my yearly tradition of Mother’s Day brunch with my mother. It used to just be the two of us, all through high school and for a long time after that, my sister Chaachi was always scheduled to work that weekend. But now it is the 3 of us. We took a few years detour from brunch into dinner or just a regular lunch, but it is back to brunch this year! We are finding it hard to find a new place to go each year, and some years bring not so good experiences, but it is always fun. This year my gift to mom will be a mother’s necklace. I had it planned since Christmas, but I haven’t gotten around to making it yet. That is for later today or tomorrow. Procrastination is my middle name (it used to be my first — I am making progress).

Now it is off for a very late shower, get ready and visit my friend Le Joy. Now Le Joy, if you ever read this blog I will apologize for not going to your baby shower on Saturday. I couldn’t tell you to your face that my plans are just a sheep and wool festival, because perhaps you wouldn’t understand. But I know that you will get this I NEEDED to go to this – and I have had it on my calendar since last year. Life has been very stressful lately. I hope the help with the shower gifties and the baby sweater made up for my not being there.

Peace!

4 thoughts on “Not Bitter But Not Going

  1. Well, I’m not going to MDS&W either, even though I live an hour away from the Howard Co. fairgrounds. I’ve decided that this is the year that I’m going visit my mother for Mother’s Day. Of course, it was also the year that I was finally going to attend MDS&W, but Mom trumps sheep, anytime! Have fun at the MN S&W and hav e a great weekend! The cat bed, by the way, looks great!

Leave a Reply

