Going on a Little Trip

My sister Chaachi and I are going on a little trip to Iowa to stay in the Amana Colonies. I have been there several times, but a long time ago.

Why go? It is just a nice place to kick back, shop, look at things, eat good food. It’s a relaxed energy that is for tourism but isn’t forced or false feeling.

The Amana Colonies was built by a religious group that believed in a communal living. They aren’t as strict as the Amish and I guess they get confused for them a lot. Here is a paragraph from the above link:

The Inspirationists place a great deal of emphasis on the development and nurture of the Inner Life via direct mystical contact with God. A strong commitment to church discipline and close community relationships also characterized the Inspirationists.

What is kind of funny is that one of the reasons we are going to Amana this particular weekend is because the Taste Louisiana Cajun & Zydeco Festival will be there too!

So I guess what I am trying to say is that I will be trying to connect with God in a mystical connection through a strange mix cultures and food.

I remember too wonderful baskets, terrific wine and honey. There is the Amana Woolen Mills, but from what I gather the wool they use to weave the blankets and such is a bit harsh. I don’t see any other places for yarn on their list of shops but one can always hope. Ditto on the fiber for spinning. I guess everything doesn’t have to be about knitting and spinning – blasphemy! But you can bet that my knitting is coming with me, so I guess it does! Whew! That was close!

I will be back Sunday night. WT is staying home with the furkids.

3 thoughts on “Going on a Little Trip

  1. How fun! Would love to see pictures when you get back. My sister lives in Iowa…maybe I will have to go visit some time to check this place out. Hmm…

    Enjoy your trip!

  2. Hope you and your sister have a blast, get heaps of knitting done, shop till you drop and eat lots of delicious food. Will be waiting for the pictures when you get back šŸ™‚

  3. Oh my goodness – I LOVE the colors for your blog!!

    The Festival sounds wonderful – hope you have a lovely time!

Leave a Reply

