Redo and Renew

So much to say. First, thanks to my blog friends who keep me in touch with what is happening in the world.

I don’t watch the news, and sometimes go days without listening to the radio, especially when I am on vacation. I heard about 9/11 from a friend, and I heard about the happenings in London from blog friends.

Reality always intrudes. No matter how much I want to insulate myself from the outside world (in an effort to remain at Peace and have calm). This is a part of reality – pain, suffering, loss, destruction. I wish there was another way. I am striving to remain at peace and have calm in the midst of life in all the ways that life can be. Life is in both the "good" and the "bad".

I am glad that we have each other to share life with.

When I came upstairs to work on the photos I was thinking about how to blog this. A sentence kept running through my head; "sometimes things have to get worse before they get better." I don’t know if that is true for everyone, but it seems to be true for me and for the people around me.

I hope this doesn’t come off as small and trite, and I certainly don’t want to make light of what is happening, but this is how I am and I can’t help but dialog within myself the outer larger (macro) happenings of the world with the small things (micro) – the just me things.

I am making things worse so that I can make things better in my own home.


I decided some time ago to create my own space within my home. I decided this for a variety of reasons:

  • WT’s computer and my computer don’t act well together. They make this zingy sound/vibration when they are both on and it makes me somewhat insane
  • I need space for all my knitting, beading and spinning projects and tools
  • I want a place in the house that is all mine so that I can feel like there is a place where I am safe and all my projects will be secure

WT is on mandatory vacation (the place where he works is shut down for the July 4th week). So we decided to move his computer and things to new locations, and I have started on creating my office/fiber retreat area.

So, if you want to see some really harsh pictures here we go:


As you come into the room.

My horribly messy computer desk, and a table holding a bunch of stuff that belongs to WT, also music and printer, etc.

Another room shot.

Some of my many beadwork, knitting and spinning books. Can you believe that I have more?

So, someday soon I hope to have things in an orderly and peaceful working arrangement. I want a chair, perhaps a recliner to use upright to spin and recline to knit and just be. Both of my working wheels will be nearby with good lighting. The table is gone and in its place is my sewing machine cabinet with my machine set up and ready. The extra bookshelves are either gone or arranged with items that belong in the room. The walls are dust-free, the trim is finished and there are pictures on the walls.

Once that is complete, or nearer to completion, my next task will be to tackle the closet of yarn and fiber. It is currently full and disorganized, but not overwhelmingly so. I need to make better use of a shelf, or perhaps get rid of it altogether and run the mesh shelving that I have in the room and closet all the way to the ceiling.

More later.

Peace!

3 thoughts on “Redo and Renew

  1. Having a peaceful environment frees you up to go out into the not so peaceful world and make changes there, even if the change is simply being one more positive person (and that in itself is huge).

  2. I feel exactly the same way at the moment (ie. things have to get worse before they can get better). Wow you have loads of books and your room looks kinda like mine at the moment but mine is waaaaay smaller.

  3. Don’t worry about it. My current state is similar and the solution? Just move into a new apartment! LOL

    Hubby’s given the go-ahead for a yarn room for me as long as I can avoid spilling things into his study room.

Leave a Reply

