At least it was an enjoyable knitting experience

I am almost afraid to post these photos. First, I will tell you that I am not one of those, "I will tell you my tales of woe so that you will pity me" kind of gal.

There is no getting around the fact that blocking my Highland Triangle Shawl (Folk Shawls) did NOT make it look better. It just made it bigger.

And because I want to share with you my experiences so that you will learn through me:
highland shawl

highland shawl

highland shawl

There is no getting around it – it looks like something a clown would wear. I do like the center, but not with the green border. Even though there is green in the varigated Cherry Tree Hill Supersock, it would have been much less garish if I would have done the borders in one of the cherry colors – really. Then at least it would be more of a tone-on-tone effect. I am going to put it aside, but I will be on the lookout for a solid color that will tone it down, and just redo it.

Like I said, it was an enjoyable knit, so all is not lost.

5 thoughts on “At least it was an enjoyable knitting experience

  1. What a bummer that you don’t like it!! The green is kind of bright, and I agree that a cherry color would look better, but I don’t think you need to rip out the green. If you like how the Gems worked with the CTH, they have a berry color that will look great. I’m sure you can find something, but you really don’t need to.

    Don’t know how I missed the post with the Wool Peddler – I LOVE IT!!! That happened really fast! I love the colors you picked.

  2. Susan — I’m to be a recipient of a set of your angel stitch markers for my contribution to the Katrina fund. I just wanted to thank you for your generosity and tell you that I’m going to “pass it forward” somehow in our weekly knitting group. I’m thinking a raffle might well garner another contribution to the Katrina fund.

  3. I think you’re being a little hard on yourself and the shawl. Come spring it will be THE thing. Come back to it later and see what you think. I think it’s very cheerful. Of course, I like green a lot.

  4. Have you considered overdying it in a darker color?

    I once read a tip somewhere (a library book with stash busting as a topic) for using variegated yarns successfully. Rather than looking at the variegated yarn close up and picking one of the numerous colors within it to use as an accent, stand WAY back and look at the general, overall color effect of the yarn and go with that or something that coordinates nicely with it.

  5. I’ve found I have trouble reconciling the colors I love to knit with the colors I love to be seen wearing. 🙂 On the needles is a very different place than on the body in public. I actually LOVE those colors, and yet I also see that I’d have trouble wearing them. My insides cry out for a floral kind of beauty while my outsides love subtlety and blending into the background.

    But it is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

