One Down –

I don’t like to think that my mind is just one big list, but all evidence points to that conclusion. So, I get to cross one item off the "to do" list. WT’s Interlocking Balloons Scarf (Scarf Style) is finished. I ended up doing the exact number of repeats, but used a lot more yarn than the pattern called for. It blocked out bigger, and I could stretch it even more, but it is plenty big enough now.

Here it is:
wt's scarf - interlocking balloons scarf

It is shown against 3 coats. Mine, and 2 of WT’s. I would definitely wear this scarf, but probably won’t ever be able to because he will be wearing it to work.

I thought about knitting one for my dad for Christmas, but decided I would rather knit something similar but different. Something more mindless because this one was a bit picky for public knitting. It wasn’t hard, but when you are trying to listen or talk – too much recounting and a bit tinking too. Never more than a few stitches though.

The one I will be doing for dad is Steam – reversible cable ribbed scarf. Nice! I usually don’t use the called for yarn in anything I do (too easy) but this time, I am going to use the KnitPicks’ Merino Style in the exact same color=Fog, and the B style. I figured that I didn’t want to ask mom what color would be good, because dad would hear and I would probably be talked out of making a scarf for dad because yada yada yada. Seems like nobody "needs" hand-knit things. Not that they don’t want them. I have to ask over and over and over to get anybody (in my family) to break down and tell me what they really want for a gift.

Last night Kerry and I went to Detta’s Spindle for her annual November sale. I totally forgot, but Kerry’s fiber monkey-on-her-back personality called me to see if I was interested in a drive. After having a very yummy chili at her place we headed out in her newish car (VW Bug). Smooth ride, now I want one! Sigh.

I bought 2 books: LATVIAN DREAMS, Knitting From Weaving Charts
Latvian Dreams
,
Stahman’s Shawls and Scarves and
365 Knitting Stitches a Year Perpetual Calendar
365 Knitting Stitches a Year Perpetual Calendar

and 6 oz of 80% Alpaca, 20% silk top in charcoal/silver. The 2 skeins of Domy I bought off Kerry, but since she originally purchased from Detta’s some time back, it counts too.

detta's spindle

We had some really nice conversations with some of the other shoppers and of course with Detta and her 2 dogs, Tubby and Sunny. I love going to Detta’s, especially with Kerry. She points out all the good stuff.

Now, back to knitting on my Weeping Willow Shawl, which I restarted on smaller needles. Still searching for the illusive pointiest cable needles. I am making do for now.

Peace!

4 thoughts on “One Down –

  1. Hi Susan! Thanks for visiting my knitting blog. I’m still beading, but picked up my knitting needles again about a year ago and got (re)hooked again big time!

    Love your Interlocking Balloons. I did Ene’s scarf from that book and am working on the Here and There Cables (I posted progress pics today). I also have “Steam” on my to do list, so I look forward to seeing yours.

  2. That scarf came out gorgeous! I made the turtleneck shrug and it took almost 2 extra balls of the called for yarn and I made no changes. I guess I shouldn’t be that trusting of patterns. Good thing there was more of the yarn at the store and it wasn’t cheap.

  3. Hmmm, for some reason bloglines never told me you posted, the rats. Anyway, I had a great time, too!

    I love the bloon scarf – it’s on my list for sure.

    We missed you at AK today!

Leave a Reply

