In the midst of holiday knitting

I am trying to crank out a bunch of holiday gifts this week. Some are for sale at a holiday craft sale I will be in: Sunday, December 4th from 10:00 to 3:00 (or so). It is "The Beadladies" holiday craft sale, but some of the beadladies, like me, are more into the knitting thing. If you are in the Twin Cities – come! For more details, click here.

I am selling some very cute snowkid caps for little ones, a few beaded knitted amulet bags, some other assorted jewelry, and my Goddess Guards ~ beaded knitting stitch markers.

But along with getting ready for the sale, I am knitting holiday gifts for my friends and family too!

Here is my dad’s scarf (still not finished)
scarf for dad

It is nice, and will block out more drapey, but I am just kind of sick of knitting on it, and I don’t like to knit gifts that I am crabby about. So, I am having a bit of fun knitting the Bella Scarf from KnitPicks.com. I bought 1 of each of the 8 colors of Suri Dream (recommended in the pattern). I am really impressed, this yarn is very nice. It is 74% Suri Alpaca, 22% Wool, 4% Nylon and 143 yards in a 50 gram ball. It doesn’t shed, doesn’t feel sticky or oily and is soft, but not delicate. The colors are limited, but I am finding the 2 that I received (the rest are on the backorder – nuts!) are much more pleasing in person.

Things I am learning: I thought that a pointy needle would work better than a blunt needle. One, because the yarn is floofy and two, because there are a lot of increases (knit in the front and the back of a stitch). But I am finding that my very pointy Denise needles (LOVE THEM) aren’t as good for this scarf as my blunt Clover bamboos. Why? Well take a look at this:

bella scarf

See the long slope of the Denise (plastic/gray) needle? Because these are 15s, it takes a lot of pushing the yarn around to get it onto the true size of the needle, and because it is slippery, it slips. So the blunt needle is quicker – and because it is bamboo, they don’t slip so much. That is why having lots of needles is good! (and I am not just saying this because I am trying to feel less guilt for all the needles I have stashed.)

Anyway, I have a friend coming over to hang out and craft with, so I am ending this now. I will have more pics of the Bella scarf soon.

Peace!

One thought on “In the midst of holiday knitting

Leave a Reply

