Positive Thinking does work for some things though…

When I wrote my other post, "Natural Laws Trump Positive Thinking" – I was getting ready for this post.

I really do believe in the power of positive thinking, peaceful activities, less drama, neutral response, stepping back and just Being.

Randy Sklaver, who describes himself as, " – an American knitter living in Sweden who believes that peace is possible." wrote me an email asking if I would like to participate in a Knitting for Peace day.

Become Another Knitter for Peace.

You’re going to knit anyway on March 21, so why not dedicate your work on that day to peace? Join this grassroots movement and tell me what you (and your friends) are doing to knit for peace on that day, and I’ll post it here.

He has a group blog and more info at KnitForPeace. Please go check it out.

With ZenKnit, I am always knitting for peace, meditation, healing, relaxation and fun. To me, why knit for any other thing? Sometimes knitting can be a crankifying experience, but then I turn my attitude toward making that as peaceful as I can.

Anyway – thanks to the other knitters who brought my attention to the KnitForPeace thing too. I think it is a good thing because group focus can be/is very powerful.

Back to more substantial knitting content: I finished my Weeping Willow Shawl but don’t want to show you until it is blocked. The edging turned out great! The knitting goddess was kind, and the edging worked 100% – no fudging with the numbers needed. I need to purchase some welding rods to make some blocking wires. Up to now I have been just winging it, but I haven’t had something so fine to block.

I started up on a pair of socks, to teach myself the two handed fair isle technique, then switched to regular socks because my technique is bad and I would be better learning on worsted weight. So that sock (just a puny begining) needs to be ripped back. I started another sock using one of my KnitPicks Sock Garden colors. It is nice, but I am feeling kind of sad not having a shawl project, so another one will probably be started soon. I did try a couple of times to get another project started, but I was trying to start it up during my Wednesday Coffee/Knitting/Beads day, and that just doesn’t work – too many distractions and I made a few errors that couldn’t be fixed, so was ripped back too.

Saturday is MN AK day – yipppeee! Can hardly wait to see what everybody is working on.

Peace!

3 thoughts on “Positive Thinking does work for some things though…

  1. What a wonderful idea. I believe thoughts and intention are incredibly powerful, both to ourselves and others. Thanks for the reminder and the link to knitting for peace!

  2. Wish I had seen this sooner. Just found you. I have just recently learned how to knit. The power of relaxation it has for me is incredible. I find that I can just lose myself in the steady twisting of yarn upon yarn. And I love how that makes me think about how we all knit ourselves into one another’s lives.

Leave a Reply

