Public Knitting – kinda sorta

I did knit in public today, but it was more of the knitting crowd sort of public, aka Borealis Yarn. I broke down and purchased a ball of Trekking 105.

trekking 105

Okay, the truth is is that I went there fully intending to purchase sock yarn. I also intended to purchase size 1 and 0 double points in bamboo/wood too. I figure that since I have knit up 4 1/2 pair of socks, I deserve to re-invigorate my stash and still be ahead in the destashing goal.

Not that I think sock yarn is a sin or anything, I just feel good using what I already have. I see this as a bit of an incentive.

Here is my 1/2 of the 5th pair, looking kind of stumpy and weird because I had to jam it onto the scanner.

Regia - Italian Collection

Details: CO 80, k2 p2 ribbing for 1 inch, then I did the 4th row of the 4 row pattern, and then the rest of the baby cable pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks (great book). Then I decreased 8 stitches for a total of 72 sts; did a short row heel, then knit 18 rows still on size 2.5 mm (US 1 1/2). Then switched to US 1 for the rest of the foot including the short row toe.

I tried them on and have decided that even though I have a wide ankle I really could decrease more than 8 stitches because I like my socks kind of snug – and these fit without any stretch. After I finish this pair (have already started the 2nd) I may do some more modifications.

But I like this sock and it looks nice!

I had started into the US 1 section before I bought the new bamboo dps today. I used my Susan Bates Quicksilver set – actually 2 sets because they only come in sets of 4 needles, and I like to use 5 (4 for the sock and 1 to knit with). They are nice, but a bit long, being 7 inches vs. the 6 inch that I normally like. I almost decided not to buy the bamboos, because these needles are kind of nice… slick without being too slippery, lightweight, no chance of bending or slivers. Yes they are metal, but they don’t make clinky noises. I like having different sets for different yarns, so I am sure I will use the new bamboo too. Just thought I would put in a good word for the SB Quicksilvers – in case you want to know.

Peace!

One thought on “Public Knitting – kinda sorta

Leave a Reply

