Socks and stuff

I finally finished the 2nd sock of the ridged feather. I did the afterthought heel instead of the forethought heel. I think afterthought heels are pretty cool, and fit like the short row heel, but better because you don’t have the holes from the shortrows; they feel a bit more sturdy. I will be doing the afterthought heel for a few, but I won’t be able to really test out my theory until it is sock weather.

It is definitely not sock weather here in MN. We have been running our AC every day, all day and all night. I love to be cooler, but the zingy sound and white noise gives me a headache. My choices are damp and hot, sweaty and ill from heat without the AC or cool and headachey and stiff neck with the AC.

Hot weather means ice cream. I don’t eat a lot of it but when I do I shop around to get the right flavor. There are so many out there, but they tend to overdo the gooey and sweet. My latest craving is for coffee ice cream, and I found one that really hits the spot = Kemps Caribou Coffee Java Chunk (dark chocolate chunks in creamy coffee ice cream). Very rich, a little goes a long way.

I started another pair of socks – no surprise here. This time it is the Welt Fantastic from Sensational Knitted Socks. I downsized the pattern to a 9 stitch repeat, again so I could get a 72 stitch CO.

It is knitting up really nice, and with the sock yarn I am using, Meilenweit Fun – 99-44659 (whatever) it is making a nice blocky pattern. Here is a very bad scan:

welt fantastic

I like stripes, but pooling is cool too. Speaking of sock yarn (heh) – I decided to order a bunch from Astrid’s Dutch Obsessions. I have never ordered from this company but I decided I really needed give them a shot. Great sale prices on sock yarns, and cheap regular prices, even with shipping from Germany. I opted for the slowest/cheapest because I want to save money and don’t really mind waiting. My plan is to have a good selection to choose from for my participation in Yarn Aboard II.

Peace!

2 thoughts on “Socks and stuff

  1. I just ordered a ton of yarn from there too! Did you see the ” Show your Socks” section? You could win some Addis! Anyhow, now I want the yarn you’re using too! Very pretty start!

Leave a Reply

