Tried to finish

I really tried to get myself to finish my mother’s vest (promised for last Christmas). I managed to knit up to the 2nd armhole, but then I used the excuse of having to wind more yarn to quit.

I hate this recycled sari silk yarn. It is rude to work with – feels greasy and is murder on my already abused hands. But I will plug away at it, a bit at a time.

Andrea will try on that 1st Welt Fantastic sock tomorrow, so I may be back to socks, with a few rows of the Swallowtail Shawl from the Fall 2006 IK every now and then.

I chose Misti Alpaca Lace (suggested in the pattern even!) in color no. 8105 – from the website it is called periwinkle blue which it is, but it’s very light for periwinkle blue. When I picture that color in my mind’s eye I remember the Crayola crayon version – my favorite color. Now in checking the Crayola site it looks like the yarn is the exact same shade. I remember a darker color – memories are squishy, aren’t they?

Here is the yarn:

Man, that Crayola website is cool! Check out the link and you will see their periwinkle blue. It says there that periwinkle blue was added in 1949, etc. Personality Traits: serene, purity, infinity. Cultural Meanings: In China, blue is associated with immortality. How very Zen.

Here is the shawl. It is very lovely and only uses one skein of this yarn – such a deal!!!

Peace!

4 thoughts on “Tried to finish

  1. I am a fairly new knitter and just finished a scarf that took 3 months to complete designed by Eugen Beugler. That was cake compared to the dreaded nupps…any help you can give would be appreciated.

    Oh, and Kudos to you for persevering! I too am a gluten for punishment…hehe

    Thanks for sharing your pics and thoughts.

    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

