Nupps and socks

Nupps!

Nupps are kind of a pain in the behind. Nupps are a knitted bobble and there are a fair number of bobbles in the Swallowtail Shawl that I mentioned in the previous post.

But I have found a way to deal with them. If you are knitting this shawl and need some help/hints, just let me know. Yes there are hints all over the internet, but they mostly suggest 2 things, knitting them differently (or purling them differently), or making them smaller. My way is different, but I am too lazy busy to show you now because well, because I am knitting nupps!

Anyway, here is a photo of what I have so far:
half through the first section of lily of the valley border

I am about half done with the first lily of the valley border. There are 2 wide lily of the valley borders; 2 wide sections of nupps. So this fast shawl has become much less fast. Still like it though and will probably do one to keep. Maybe even the same color – haven’t decided yet.

I finished the 2nd sock of the Welt Fantastic set, but the 2nd looks like the first so I didn’t bother to photo them for you.

Started on another Ridged Feather (Sensational Knitted Socks) in one of the sock yarns I bought half price at Needlework Unlimited Yarn Outlet. I love it so far, here is a photo:

Ridged Feather - Sensational Knitted Socks

It is Lana Grossa – Meilenweit Multiringel – color 5070. It reminds me of a hazelnut mocha latte or something equally yummy. This time I am doing the 11 stitch pattern on a 77 stitch sock with plans on a 33 stitch heel – shortrow this time. I like the afterthough heel but it is a lot of work. I know I could figure out a neater way of picking up those stitches, but I just want a nice restful sock experience this time.

Peace!

7 thoughts on “Nupps and socks

  1. I like the sock and the shawl is really coming along. For nupps, I make the k1,yos on the previous row a little loose; makes it easy to slip the needle in for the purl side. (Also sharper needles help:) Can’t wait to see yours finished!

  2. Nupps – I hate them. I avoid them like the plague.

    I’m doing Swallowtail as a test knit for my LYS in the most wonderful cashmere laceweight. How did you do the nupps? I don’t want to have to take too many chances with this yarn breaking.

    HELP ME PLEASE – Tracy

  3. I’m an advanced beginner (don’t consider someone advanced until they make sweaters, and I’ve not accomplished that feat) and bought several patterns that have NUPPS! Have not begun them as yet, but would surely appreciate it if you’d pass along your method of stitching them. Beyond me how one can do a YO within a stitch. I thought a YO (at least the ones I do) are a stitch in themselves. D’oh …… feeling pretty dumb here right now. Thanks for any help!

  4. Hi. I’m currently knitting the Swallowtail Shawl and am stuck at the nupps. I’ve read other solutions, but none of them feel right. I’d love to hear how you dealt with the nupps. Thanks in advance for your time.

Leave a Reply

