It’s been a while

So here I am. I realize I haven’t shared my 3 day weekend at the Wisconsin Spin-in. It went well. I think it was a little under attended, but okay in my book. All the classes I took were super good.

Here’s what I have from them:

hand dyed sock yarn
Hand dyed (by me!) sock yarn.

This is from my class in dyeing sock yarn (of course) with Tracey Schuh. If you are interested in dyeing and want to take a class – I highly recommend any class by Tracey. She is fun, loves to share info and very enthusiastic and encouraging. I haven’t wound up the watermelon/orange/plain yet. That was from a "wrapping around a warping board to get a patterned stripe" part of the class. I am sure I made mistakes in counting, but it should knit up very nicely. The green was just a free-form skein that looks yummy (if I do say so myself). The blue/purple was from a machine knitted tube, dyed in stripes – mine ran together, but I still like it. I have already unravelled the tube, but haven’t wound it into a ball yet. The other pinky/yellow/plain ball is another free-form.

Here is what I have from my Dyeing with Indigo class:
indigo samples

Plops of roving that were natural beige and dark grey, a bit of silk, mini-skeins that were overdyed, and mini-skeins that were dunked different amounts. Under the samples is a bit of muslin that was stitched shibori-style, but I didn’t do it right so you can’t see the stitches. It is a nice blue to keep around for quilting or some other project.

I took a class that wasn’t advertised – just didn’t make it into the brochure. It was on weaving using the square and triangle looms – fun! Here is what I ended up with:

weaving

I liked the class; another great teacher. Still haven’t made up my mind about whether I have to get a loom or not. Probably not, more on that later.

I bought a bunch of fiber for spinning, but I can’t remember where I stashed it, I can show you this:

pencil roving

It is dyed pencil roving. Very cool, I bought 2 other colors. I will try to find the rest of the pile – some beautiful stuff (of course).

Right now I am still plugging away on my Moderne Log Cabin and have taken out my quilting UFOs. I quilted back in the 80s when it was a big thing to use machines for piecing, but still almost forbidden to machine quilt. Things have really changed in the quilting world. Here is what I found in the dungeon basement:

quilting pile

Peace!

3 thoughts on “It’s been a while

  1. I love to take dyeing classes! I can’t remember the name of the woman who taught the dyeing classes at Shepherd’s Harvest – maybe it was Tracey. You dyed some cool stuff!

  2. My husband’s family is from around there. I so badly wanted to go but with the kiddos it just wasn’t in the cards this year. Maybe next year. Glad you had some nice classes.

Leave a Reply

