This and That

Casting about for the focused energy to get some blog content. I have been very busy, and willing to share it with whomever/whoever(?) but wireless problems have kept me from getting it done.

Anyway ~ On the knitting front I finally finished both red scarf project scarves. Now I have to dehair them, tag them and get them out – probably by the weekend.

Started up a fuzzy comfy lap robe for Elfgirl. The socks did not fit!. A quick knit on size 13 needles. Well, it should be quick but I am finding large needles very hard to handle. But it is mindless knitting for sure, k3, p3, repeat until all sanity leaves. Nothing fancy, just some nicely colored and very soft Lionbrand Homespun.

I decided that I HAD to do the JoAnn Etc. thang and take advantage of the quilting fabric for 50% off. I have been eyeballing a particularly wild lap quilt done up in Kaffee Fassett collection fabrics. Very wild. I decided to do my own eyepopping version. Here is a link to the original kit Ring Around the Posies, designed by Cheryl A. Adam. Even though it is shown folded, all the colors are showing. That photo is a bit dim, my copy is very vivid.

Mine is interesting – here is what I have so far:

I need to iron all the blocks, and then start sewing them together to make the top, and then of course add the borders, etc. So basically I have it partially done. I should be able to finish it up, or at least be close by this weekend. That is the plan anyway. I am really liking it so far because I wanted it to be very unique and crazy. I am a big fan of red and green, which are the main colors of my living room.

I am actually doing the work in my sewing/computing room! It isn’t completely the way I like it but it is slowly getting there. A few weekends ago some friends came over to help us put together one set of shelves. I asked if they would help and I would cook them dinner. They fell for it. *grin* I served up what I call drunken beef (beef roasted in onion soup, bourbon and beer), roasted potatoes and carrots. Delish!

I am now slowly filling the shelves – still have to decide what books get packed up and stored in the dungeon haven for centipedes basement, and which get donated or sold. The room is still a mess, but I am used to that; have even found that it helps with the creativity. That is the little fib that I keep telling myself ~ kind of like placebo, and I am crazy enough to allow myself to go along with it.

Here are my lovely half-filled Ikea Expedit shelves (the unfilled parts aren’t shown):

We have a set in black that are going to be put up in the living room. More moving things around and such.

I hope you are all having a terrific time doing the things you love.

Peace!

Susan

5 thoughts on “This and That

  1. I do believe you need to share that recipe for drunken beef. Sounds perfect for my family.

    The shelves are awesome, and that quilt simply puts me to shame. I just could never be a quilter – my ADD would not allow it.

Leave a Reply

