Keeping a record

Late last year I started up a little notebook for my knitting – socks. This year I realized that I should use it for all my projects because why not?

I am a big fan of taking a copy of my purchased pattern or magazine. I mark up the copy with my changes, or make sure that I can figure out where I am if I need to put the project aside. Because I had transitioned from doing other’s patterns for socks to basically doing my own (or redoing ones that I have done before ) marking up a copy didn’t work anymore. Hence the little book.

It is a nice small size; something that fits easily into my knitting bag, or in my small purse. It has a built-in elastic band that keeps the book from flopping open in my bag or purse. I can also use it to mark the page when I am knitting so I don’t have to search around when I need to refer back to my notes.

Here it is, open to my page of notes for this one red sock:

one red sock

On the cover of this little book is a pretty green background with purple flowers and a quote from Buddha, "We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make the world."

I guess I am making the world into one big sock! *grin*

Peace.

5 thoughts on “Keeping a record

  1. My biggest problem with my knitting is that I’m so sporadic and may set a project aside for more than a year! That’s made copying the pattern and marking it up essential — otherwise I may have to rip out and start over when I come back to it. A notebook. Now why didn’t I think of that? I journal about everything else. 😉

  2. That’s an excellent idea! I sometimes write out notes, but usually on random bits of paper that tend to get lost. Not very handy that way. Lovely sock, BTW.

  3. I’ve kept a knitting journal for almost 7 years and it’s been a life-saver when I’ve had to knit another sock for someone or just don’t remember what size I knit for a particular pattern.

Leave a Reply

