A very, very good day

A post ago I mentioned that I was planning out a ripple afghan. Today the yarn arrived! I am really cheap when it comes to having things shipped, so I have to "be okay" with sometimes sloooooooooow delivery because slow=cheap. Sometimes slow=free, and that is a really good reason to be patient. Anticipation and all that stuff.

Anyway, my yarn from Knitpicks.com arrived today! 22 different colors of their 100% wool, fingering weight yarn named Palette. Because I am making such a large size, I thought that a fingering weight yarn would be best. My soft ripples afghan will be in 23 colors (I already had 2 skeins of one yarn in my stash). 5 colors will be used 6 times, the rest will be used 3 times each. That is a total of 168 rows, 84 2-row stripes. It will be 24 repeats of the pattern, and approximately 72 inches by 84 inches; big enough to cover the top of my queen-sized bed with a little bit of on each side and on the bottom. All for a steal at $51.74. Plus another paltry $3.98 for the two skeins I already had but that hardly counts because it is from stash *grin*. Still, a queen-sized afghan for under $60 – whoa!

Here are my colors:

Fingering weight Palette Yarn by Knitpicks.com

and one sheet of my 3 sheet plan for the stripes/rows:

ZenKnit's ripple afghan plan

I am trying hard not to think about how unwieldly it will become. It will probably be an "at home" project after a certain stage. I guess I will find out. No rush on this one either, but from reading the posts on The No-End-In-Sight Ripple-Along, some of the participants are really ripping along.

Today was also good because I got together with my friend Kerry. She showed me some of her finished projects and we talked about what we are both working on right now. She gifted me some dog chewies that don’t match her carpet (they stain). My dogboy insists on taking his chewy bones outside; I think he is afraid that I will steal them from him. He says,

Thanks for the great chewies!
Thanks for the great chewies Kerry!

no thanks from Guinevere
Guinevere says, "What am I, chopped liver?"

Peace!

5 thoughts on “A very, very good day

  1. Hi Spencer! Glad you like those nasty thangs! My dogs loved ’em, but I’m a mean mom.

    I can’t wait to see your afghan, and I’m glad your yarn showed up today!

  2. Oh my goodness – look at all that delicious color! I can’t wait to see how you put it all together, and also to hear how Palette knits up.

  3. Love those colours, Susan!!! Can’t wait to see them together.

    I was thinking about you this morning and wondering if you were interested in starting/joining a webring for knitters for peace. I’m feeling very inspired right now and thought this might be a good way to do a little bit of good. Let me know what you think about it.

Leave a Reply

