Comfortable

Homey, even a little homely (proper or suited to the home or to ordinary domestic life; plain; unpretentious). In meditation practice/life one attempts to become okay with being uncomfortable, to let go, to be present with accepting ourselves as we are right this moment. I am not talking about letting things be in a lazy way, but in the way that I am trying to let go of perfectionism, because ultimately perfectionism is ego.

There are many things in each day that can are jarring, uncomfortable, not balanced that aren’t okay – they need changing, or perhaps just by noticing and asking why brings some sort of peace in getting down to why life is the way it is.

I was thinking about my ripple afghan and how nicely homey/homely it is. Each color seems to stand out, especially when there is only one row. Then with two rows it starts to blend. It is almost like magic. Maybe it is because I become accustomed to them after a bit, and then they aren’t so jarring after all. Then the process starts all over again with the next new color. Life as afghan. *grin*

I love all the colors so much that I can’t bring myself to just carry along the few I will be working with – they have to be all together in a big baglady bag, or like a traveling circus.

baglady ripple afghan

After I had a few stripes done I realized that I am recreating a yet-to-be-created-planned-but-not-even-started quilt done up in 30s/40s prints.

ripple afghan like 30s prints

I am really loving it!

Peace,

7 thoughts on “Comfortable

  1. Oh Susan!

    I just had the chance to jump on over to your blog. We have so many ripplers I simply haven’t had time to drop by you all, but WOW do I wish I had stopped by here sooner.

    I am passionately, coventously in love with everything. Love the socks, love the scarves, love the log cabin, really, really love the quilt. And the goddess stitch markers? What more could a gal want? You are amazingly talented my dear….and holy moly, you’re in Saint Paul?!?!?! SO AM I!!! Drop me an email, we should chat!

    Ever your loving Ripple Mistress, Dawn

  2. Hi Susan, What a great start to your afghan! Are you going to make it to the bead retreat next weekend? I think there will be as much knitting as beading. :^)

  3. I just found your site and I sure wish I’d found you sooner! I’m from St. Paul, though I’m living in Chicago now. I love your ripple blanket. The colors are so beautiful. I especially love how they look with the fabric. It’s fun and comforting all at once. I look forward to seeing how it develops!

  4. Beautiful! I never would have put those colors together, but they really do work together wonderfully. So cheery and sunny and full of life – I can’t wait to see what the afghan looks like as it gets bigger!

Leave a Reply

