SSDA

SSDA – Same Stitches, Different Afghan. Or at least the plan of different afghans. So far it has been SSSA – same stitches same afghan. I am still working on the Waterfall afghan and I decided to purchase 2 more skeins of the navy Palette yarn. But what I still need to decide is if I am going to continue it to make it wider vs. longer. Or perhaps I should just make it big enough to be used either way.

Here is are 2 shots: I think I like it with the zigzags going in that "slimming" way – that being up and down, vs. side-to-side:

afghan for dad - up and down

afghan for dad - side-to-side

If I don’t change my mind again, that means the length (the up and down way) will be about 49-51 inches. They stretch and I can’t seem to get a really accurate measurement. That will be okay since dad is a shortie like me. So far the width is about 40 inches.

I haven’t decided if I will make sure that the color repeat is complete across, because I may not have enough yarn (even with the 2) to make it complete in that way. But I figure it will not really matter much visually, because it is so ziggy that I don’t think anyone will notice, as long as I have one dark blue stripe at the end. Please tell me what you think – up and down, side to side, make it big enough for either and do I need to make sure the color repeats are complete?

For now that I will need to chill on continuing Waterfall until the new yarn arrives so I can see if it matches. And that means I need to start on a new afghan. Cool!

I have the yarn for the last 2 afghans (besides my sister’s, which is still in process). Here is the yarn and photo of of one:

afghan for another brother - red white and blues

and another:

afghan for ANOTHER brother - brown, tan and aqua

Both of these are from the Leisure Arts book, Rippling Effects. I had used one of the patterns a long time ago for some baby afghans I did for great-nieces and great-nephews. All of the patterns (16) are very pretty. It was hard to decide!

William-Thomas, Spencer, Guinevere and I will be kicking back this long weekend. It seems a bit weird to even think of it as a long weekend, since both WT and I are self-employed, working days, nights and most weekends – days just melt into each other and the calendar doesn’t seem to make much difference anymore. But holidays usually bring more free time – since our clients and students want to kick back too!

So I will leave you to your long weekend – just as soon as I post this funny photo of our impromptu altar to shoes – more on the reason behind that on a later post.

altar to shoes

Peace!

4 thoughts on “SSDA

  1. I love your navy ripple afghan — it’s beautiful! I’ve been wanting to make a ripple afghan for a very long time, but don’t have the patience for large items. Yours is certainly inspiring.. can’t wait to see the other two you’re planning!

  2. I do like how the zig zags look when you have it going up and down instead of side to side. But when you first look at it, it looks weird, because you always see them side to side. But I think you get used to it, so if you like it better that way, I’d say go with that.

    As far as the full repeats go, in the pictures, the lightest blue really pops, so if you don’t have that evenly spread throughout, it might look unbalanced. However, I know from personal experience that things that really stand out in a photo don’t always look so obvious in person.

    It’s looking gorgeous, any way you finish it. I’m sure your dad is going to love it!

Leave a Reply

