Did you celebrate the Fall Equinox?

WT, Spencer and I got together with friends to hang out, eat good great FANTASTIC food and just enjoy the fine summer into fall evening. I brought my crocheting along, but dang it if I forgot my hooks.

So, it was a vacation from hooking, and since I had a student earlier in the day – an almost crochet-free day. But I couldn’t resist the lure of the newest afghan so I did a few rows once we were back home.

Here is a photo of the latest:

afghan for another brother - ripple

The colors aren’t quite right in the photo. It is a very nice blend in person. Here is a blurry shot with a better view of the colors:
afghan for another brother - ripple

Ack! That still isn’t quite right. It really is very nice looking in person. I wasn’t really thrilled with it at first, and ended up tearing a good chunk out and re-working the width (it was toooooooo biiiiiiiggggggg) and changing up the order of the colors, because the variegated was just blending too much into the dark brown. The dark brown is called coffee, the lighter brown is cafe, the variegated is earth and sky, and the white is either aran or soft white. I don’t have them right here so I am just guessing.

Three repeats out of a total of 6. I thought I could get away with 5 repeats, but I think it will be just a bit short. I don’t know if I will have enough yarn. I calculated it thinking that the instructions were right, and they aren’t. The stitches are right, but I am wondering if there was just a silly person doing the yardage because this is the 2nd time that the 2nd color of 2 patterns was off. Thankfully, the 2nd color is one of those “no dye lot” sort, and I think I can get it local vs. having to order it online. I still haven’t ordered more yarn for the red, white, blue and tan afghan. I need to do that!

Tomorrow starts a pretty busy week; I may not get a lot of time to crochet. It is also my birthday on Friday and I have celebrations planned on Friday and Saturday. I will tell you more about that when I can.

Have a great week! I know I will.

Peace

5 thoughts on “Did you celebrate the Fall Equinox?

  1. I think your new blanket is beautiful. Was wondering how the tan one was going. I can crochet but like to knit blankets better and used your links to find some really pretty ones. Thanks for those link 😉

  2. Susan, I love the delicious coffee and cream colors with the touch of perfect turquoise. I think browns and blues are good mates and you certainly have paired them beautifully here.

    Have a wonderful birthday and enjoy each moment! B

  3. Only quietly, internally, but I did celebrate it. It’s always a relief to me, not being a summer person. I baked cookies to celebrate that the oven could be used without overheating the house. Fall is my favorite season.

    That’s a beautiful afghan.

Leave a Reply

