Back in the saddle

I’m back in the (sock) saddle again.

ridged feather sock

Even though I finished that pair of red socks, that was just a finish-up an old project kind of thing. This time I started a new pair. My favorite mindless sock – a modified ridged feather from Sensational Knitted Socks. I am using some sock yarn I picked up on clearance at the Needlework Unlimited Outlet. Two balls of Meilenweit Fun and Stripes in colors that I seem to be wearing a lot lately. Fall colors! I am making these a bit longer than I normally do. Why? Who knows, just wanted to. I will still have bits left anyway because I have short feet.

I have also been up to bead crochet a lot lately. I had to re-teach my hands to do the stitches. One of those techniques that get rusty. I just finished this bracelet for a gift for a friend and I like it so much I am making one for myself too!

bead crochet tree spirit bracelet

The beads are an size 8 mix of matte and rainbow blue strung on polyester thread. Crocheted pretty tight. Bead caps and a center stone bead of black labradorite.

The charm is a Tierra Cast one, called Tree Spirit. I love it. Of course I had only one of those charms, and I had to both find out who manufactures the charm and then find out if anybody sold them so I could have one for my bracelet. I hunted on Etsy and found Dragynsfyre. I saw she had sold those charms before and asked if she still carried them. Yes! Great service. I found some beads she created that I added to my order and I am anxious to see them in person. She has some beautiful items on her Etsy shop so check it out if you have a moment or two or three…

The labradorite stone center piece I found at a local bead and yarn shop called Be-Ya-Gi (Beads, Yarn, Gifts). Great place. Not a lot of each but what they do have is very reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and helpful without being hovering. Great knitting and beading classes and such too!

Besides working on that sock I am working on other bead crochet items and need to get one brother’s afghan finished as the yarn has arrived and I don’t have any other excuses besides wanting to do other things too.

I hope you are having a good time getting ready for the holidays. I love this time of year!

Peace!

One thought on “Back in the saddle

  1. Gorgeous beadwork! I am drawn to such shiny objects but I have no desire to make them so I admire your work all the more.

    Can you tell me what that sock pattern is and where I can get a copy of it? I love it and am looking for new things to try on my socks lately. Thanks much!

Leave a Reply

