Countdown to an important day

I am so proud to be an Aguirre. This next week, Wednesday, May 21st, my family will be honored to have a street (avenue actually) named Aguirre. It is all because of my dad’s family. His 10 brothers, out of a total of 11, have all served in the military and all came home after their service – alive. My uncle Charles worked for many years to get some sort of recognition for the family’s service. Sadly, uncle Charlie died last year but his efforts were rewarded. I am sure he and my other uncles who have died, Henry, Robert, Mike, and Ruben will be there in spirit as well as my grandparents, Jose F. and Enriqueta, and my auntie Maggie.

On the East side of St. Paul, close to where their family home was, and close to where I am living now, Wadena will be named Aguirre.

Do you want to see a video of my handsome dad and my uncles Pete, Joe, Frank, Joe and Bill? Here is a link. My father, Louis, is the man 2nd from the left seated at the picnic table. In the old anniversary photo they show my dad is the one on the far right, last to be seen in the scan.

And here is a link to one of the most recent newspaper articles.

~ Peace

3 thoughts on “Countdown to an important day

Leave a Reply

