A different kind of Holiday season this year

This year I am not in a mad dash to finish a huge pile of projects.  I have been busy with big life changes: a divorce and all that goes with that, getting a full-time job, meeting new people, dealing with illness in my family, friends’ life changes – you know, LIFE.

And usually I would be knitting or crocheting through all of these things, but this time I just didn’t feel the need to do that.  But now that the big life changes have settled it is time to fill moments with knitting and crafting again.

Lately I have been knitting more – simple things like dishcloths.  I finished this set for a friend:
wally112009Although it is not a colorway that I would have chosen, I think it turned out pretty nice.  The set is based on the Knit Nutt’s – The Squidge Cloth. Done up as dishcloths, a hand towel and then used Nancy’s hanging towel and just subbed in the stitch pattern for the whole towel. There was also a Four-corners dishcloth added to the set that I had knit earlier that wasn’t in the photo. If you look really carefully there is also a Tribble (tawashi/sponge thing) there in the photo too.

Now that my friend has moved to a new place with new kitchen colors we have realized that something with a little more POW! would be nice. Perhaps a blue set? So that is on my “Something to do” list, maybe for Christmas or a “just because” type of gift.

Back to Holiday gift-giving. I am toying with the idea of either buying those spice mix sets one sees at every craft fair lately, or perhaps make some of my own and pack them up in some nice jars. I think everyone would appreciate a nice brownie, cake or goodie/snack mix around for those times when you feel like having something good to eat but haven’t been out shopping lately. So now I am in the hunt mode to find either one recipe that I can make in mass quantities or really customize it to the individual giftee.

Wish me luck, and if you have any suggestions or ideas….

Peace

One thought on “A different kind of Holiday season this year

Leave a Reply

