Catching up

Life.

-sigh-

If you are looking for knitting content, you will have to content yourself will looking at the photos, and hopefully near them will be little bits of info.

Ready?

Life is always wonderful – every little juicy bit, though sometimes I wish my life was a little less crying kind of juicy.

Perhaps it is because I am in a particularly emotionally fraught time.  I am now in the

I can’t believe I still have my period! Do I still have my period?  Damn, yes I do…or maybe not. ARGH!

time in my life.  I wish there was a switch in my belly button to turn off the baby making parts of my body.  At 48 going on 49 it just doesn’t seem fair to have to worry about it all – especially seeing it has been a part of my life since I was eleven.  Enough is enough!

So for whatever reason, I have been crying a lot and feeling lonely too even though I am surrounded by loving friends and family.  Hmmm, the family part is both loving and crying producing lately.  But feelings aren’t rational and they are valid even if they don’t make sense – I tell myself that a lot lately.

Lately, I have been missing that closeness of being married.  And then I realize that when I was married I still felt alone, and then that thought makes me want to cry even more.  I know everyone goes lonely bits of times in their lives but that makes me sad too – the fact that we are all surrounded by so much love that seemingly can’t get in.  Why? Because.

I don’t worry about money or resources or things.  But I do tend to fuss over time, thoughts and feelings about whether people can feel and accept the love I have for them, and my constant struggle with being understood.

I know I need to let go – so I am doing a lot of Reiki and meditation.  Trying to breathe and settle and be.

Watching a movie and reading helps, but sometimes that also fuels the fire of loneliness.  Most movies and books are about  miss communication or lack of communication, longing, heart break, you know, LIFE.  But one of my biggest beefs about movies and books is the drama of it all, all the withholding of emotions – not communicating true feelings – ACK!

So then I turn to the peaceful meditation of my knitting, or even just getting onto Ravelry and looking at everyone’s beautiful creations, and I start opening up my knitting magazines and books and perusing my stash, making plans.  And usually peace comes back.  I just love all the parts of a project, the planning, the yarn, the process and the finishing.

I have asock-havana-2010ccomplished a few things lately.  Here they are:

This is a modified version of Charlene Schurch’s Ridged Feather from her book, Sensational Knitted Socks. It is my go to pattern because I love the way it fits and I have knit it so many times I don’t have to think it through.  It looks wonderful in striped yarn or variegated.  I have the pattern written up in code in my little sock knitting notebook.

I cast on the mate right away and can hardly wait to finish.  I love the colorway, which is much more beautiful in person.

Next, here is something I finished a while ago, but haven’t shared yet:

I found the pattern for this scarf, Three Sisters Scarves # scarf-minivacationTwo by Monika Steinbauer, on Ravelry.

I found the pattern very easy to do and took off knitting it but then had some second thoughts, first I realized that there was a mistake in the pattern so I ripped back and started over.   Next, I was loving the colorway of this Cherry Tree Hill sock yarn (Cherry Blossoms) but variegated yarns done up in eyelet patterns can either look too busy or the pattern is lost in the yarn.  So I dunked the end that I was knitting and did a quick block on a towel and left it to dry on the top of my radiator – Denise needles connected and all.   I liked it enough to continue and eventually finish, but I still need to do the real blocking and finishing.

If you look at the photo the scarf end at the top is unblocked and the bottom is quick block.

It is almost past scarf season, but I will have it handy for when the snow flies next year.  It will look good with my brown coat and is feminine without being flouncy.

I am also working on another set of dishtowels.  I have 2 dishclothes and one hanging towel completed, and am now on a regular hand towel and hope to have enough for a knitted sponge thing.  I will post photos soon.

Right now I am in the midst of a yarn snarl from hell and am this close to just cutting the yarn, but I don’t have any more of that color.  I may go out and buy some more and even though it won’t be the same dye lot.  It is just a towel set, not a sweater so no big worries there.

And just writing about it makes me want to go out and get some more yarn.  That way I will have enough for a good sized towel, especially if I can unsnarl the soon-to-be-clipped mess!

Thanks for those who have made it all the way down here.  I hope you are finding peace and contentment in your life, and if not all of it, at least your knitting and other crafts.

Leave a Reply

