Stage Mother

Color me proud.

My daughter  will be in an upcoming theatre production at Carleton College.  I am just beaming.

A friend asked me if I knew of anyone that would fit this particular part, and I offered her up as a suggestion, no audition necessary.  We made arrangements for her to move into her role.  I knew I would miss her, but felt like getting her out there where other people could experience her was a bigger, better goal and would fulfill her needs beyond what I could give her.  Especially since I have been kind of ignoring her.  Oh, there were always plans for some one-on-one time but other things got in the way and I must admit, I have really been neglecting my beautiful daughter.

So the day came when she was picked up so she could get used to being onstage and to learn how to get along with the other actors – you know, rehearsals.

Once she was gone I realized that I didn’t have any recent photos of her.  Can you believe that? My friend took some of her on stage – not interacting or rehearsal so much as patiently posing and waiting for the others to come and play.  She looked gorgeous and I was so excited to share these photos with you but then we forgot to transfer them to my computer.  I will get those on the blog asap, until then, here is my one stock photo.

It doesn’t  show her natural beauty and talent, but it is better than nothing.

I am sure you will want to see her in her role as “spinning wheel”.  While just a small part and certainly non-speaking, I think she will be on stage for a good chunk of time.

I am really looking forward to the production – besides my daughter’s involvement there will be things like knitting and animals and such.

Here are the details:

2010 Spring Theater Production

Haldor Laxness’ “Independent People” will be presented May 14 and  15 at 8 p.m. and May 15 and 16 at 2 p.m. in Arena Theater (Carleton College).

The production is under the direction of Eva Barr and John Musial of the Lookingglass Theater of Chicago. Ms. Barr adapted the play being produced by the Carleton Players

Independent People is a multi-faceted staged adaptation of the Icelandic novel of the same name by Noble prize-winning author Halldor Laxness. Set during the first twenty years of the twentieth century, the story follows a peasant family’s struggle to attain independence in a world that is dead set against it. Within an array of colorfully down-trodden Icelandic folk, we meet a son, Nonni, and join in his return journey to Iceland to finally “see” the father(Bjartur of Summerhouses) he couldn’t comprehend as a boy, and to understand the connection he and his father share to the girl he always called sister (Asta Solillja).

Friday, May 14th

  • 8:00 pm – Carleton Players production of Halldor Laxness’ “Independent People”

Saturday, May 15th

  • 2:00 pm – Carleton Players production of Halldor Laxness’ “Independent People”
  • 8:00 pm – Carleton Players production of Halldor Laxness’ “Independent People”

Sunday, May 16th

  • 2:00 pm – Carleton Players production of Halldor Laxness’ “Independent People”

PLAYERS PERFORMANCE RESERVATIONS
To reserve seats for an upcoming play, please call 507-222-4471. Leave your name, the date and time of the play, and the number of seats that you would like to reserve. Productions are general admission and free of charge.

And here is a really good review of the book, on which the play is based, Iceland’s Stoic, Sardonic ‘Independent People’

Please come see her and if you do, be sure to let me know what you think.

Update, here she is on stage along with her actor friend, “Rock”.  I don’t think it is just me… doesn’t she just steal the scene?

Peace

2 thoughts on “Stage Mother

  1. Does your lovely daughter have a name? Louie (Louet) and Wendolene are my “kids.”

    Yes, I do believe she is a scene-stealer. Rock looks a little jealous.

Leave a Reply

