Almost there!

I finished crocheting another ripple. This one is 37 x 56 inches. Done in earth tones. Here it is:

cblanket8-2

It is the same ripple stitch as the blue and greens I did a bit ago. This time instead of a somewhat random I did 2 repeating patterns.

Here are some close-ups of some of the repeats:

cblanket8-3

cblanket8-4

Basically it is one skein of each color except for the variegated, and the greens are really 3 different. I ran out of one and had to sub in the 2nd green along the way, but it isn’t really that bad and is somewhat hidden because it is next to a variegated stripe, so the eye doesn’t land hard there. That is what I am telling myself anyway.

I started another today (9 out of my goal of 10) and I am finding not having enough yarn is getting to be a repeating issue. That is one of the problems of doing stash projects – you finally run out of stash! I guess that is a nice problem. All I need to do is go out and get some more yarn, which isn’t a sad thing at all. Here is what I have so far:

cblanket9-1

It is called the Sideways Shell Baby Afghan, by Donna Laing. I started out with a longer starting chain because I am using sportweight yarn. It is an easy, quick pattern. I have already used up 2 of my 6 skeins of the yarn. Not enough yarn, so I am going to try to find some matching sportweight to put 2 or more sections of solid between each 2 skein stripe. There will also be a solid colored border. That is the plan, anyway.

More later!

~ Peace

3 thoughts on “Almost there!

  1. Hi all.
    Love all the beautiful afghans. would love to try the soft waves afghan pattern. a friend of mine is haveing a baby and would love to make a baby blanket for her. can anyone help please. thank you.

    patty

  2. hi — could you answer a question about the sideways shell? i’m confused by the pattern.

    It says: “Work 1 sc, ch2 and 2dc clustered all in the first ch-2 loop. Repeat in all loops across to the last loop.”

    Does that mean do the first cluster in the first ch-2, and then do another cluster in every single stitch across? Or does it mean to only do the cluster in every ch-2 back loop?

    “Loop” threw me as well — back loop only?

    As you can tell, the “newbie” nickname of the pattern suits me.

    Thanks!

Leave a comment