Backing up a bit

Okay, so in the last entry I was counting all the afghans (donation) that I had started. The real details are that I still have a few that are in process.

cblanket10-2

Tonight I photoed the almost conclusion of the latest cotton-ease blanket that I had shared earlier:I used a free pattern from Lionbrand website called, Crochet Shell Stitch Baby Blanket. I used Lion Brand Cotton-Ease in 3 of the discontinued colors with a chain of 110 stitches to create a 30 inch width. Pretty, huh?

 

 

cblanket10-3

 

And here’s a detail shot of the borders:

Good work, yes? Now do you want to see the WHOLE truth? It’s a bit graphic, so those with a delicate constitution might want to peek through fingers or such.

cblanket10-4

 

 

Sadly, this is one of the gory details of the ugly underbelly of multiple color crochet projects. I thought I could crochet over the ends when I was doing the borders, but that was a big no-go; too lumpy, so I just worked around them and now I am stuck with weaving them in. Last night I wove in some of the pink ends; I am doing them color by color so as to have a small sense of accomplishment, cause let’s face it, this is the not-so-pretty part of finishing a project, and anything to make it tolerable is something on the plus side.

cblanket5-3Tonight I decided to tackle another not totally finished blanket project. Another free pattern, this one the Baby Blocks Throw on the Lionbrand.com website too. I had finished crocheting all 16 squares (the pattern had just 12), but I hadn’t sewn or crocheted them together because I hadn’t decided which to do, sew or crochet. Sewing won out but here is a photo before said sewing.

 

Now I am working on some crocheted border(s) all around, even though the pattern didn’t direct any. Without borders the blanket feels unfinished. I am not sure how it will end up.

And last but not least there is another blanket that is still in process. This one is taking longer because it is both knit (and a knit blanket takes longer) and a shadow/illusion one at that, which means following a chart = slooooooooow.

This is from another free pattern but this one I found on Ravelry.

cblanket7-3

It is the Star Illusion Blanket. I actually have more done rows, but the photo didn’t show much more than this earlier photo.

That’s all for now. Hope you USA folks have a great 4th and YEAH! to a long weekend!

~ Peace

6 thoughts on “Backing up a bit

  1. I love the colours in all three blankets! The ripple is adorable, the granny squares are lovely, and the stars are absolutely cute! You have such good taste! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I love that pattern from Lion Brand for the shell stitch balnket, but I don’t think I like all those ends! What a nightmare! It turned out oober pretty, tho!

  3. Hi Susan, Love the blanket and the stitch. I know it is probably a no no, but I crochet my ends in as I go. I also do this with knitting. Have you heard of this. it works out slick. When you are done, your are done! K~

  4. Hi Susan,

    I am just about to embark on the Lion Brand baby blocks blanket, which is meant as a present for my third grandchild, due in January. I have also already given some thought to how the blocks can best be joined together. When you say you will sew yours, do you mean you will will use sewing thread and sew by hand? Or will you sew them together using wool? I sort of thought it might be difficult with wool because of all the different colours. What do you think will work best?

    Many thanks
    Katrina

Leave a comment